A new opportunity

Thank you for all the supportive comments on my last post. I didn’t know how to respond to them. But I hope you know that they were a comfort to me during last weekend. 

It’s been a bit of a rollercoaster since my disastrous assessment on Friday.

It took me until about Sunday to fully move forward from the assessment. Friday evening I had to take it five minutes at a time. I was worn out but had to take a sleeping tablet. 

I was still in such a bad state on Saturday. So much so that I couldn’t face the gym. I didn’t have the strength to exercise or to face people. Dave had to make me go with him to take Walter for a walk. I’m so glad he did. It helped me to begin to clear my head. 

On Sunday I suggested that we take Walter for a big walk. I felt much more able to face the world. Walter loved meeting lots of new dogs. A group of young children were fascinated with him and I managed to get him to do a few of his tricks much to their delight. 

On Sunday evening I received a text that boosted my mood. At Dom’s mum’s wedding, there was a 13 year old girl there with Down’s Syndrome. I spoke to her during the day and also danced with her during the evening. Her mum had mentioned how she would love to have me working with her daughter. 

I decided to bite the bullet and text Dom’s mum expressing my interest in supporting this girl. On Sunday evening her Mum text me to see if I was still interested. My head was trying to tell me to make up an excuse, that I wasn’t up to this, that I would be rubbish. But I ignored these thoughts. 

So tomorrow I am working with this girl! I spoke to her Mum earlier on and I am actually looking forward to it now. I will be helping this girl get ready first thing in the morning to get ready for school. I will also be supporting her for a few hours after school. From speaking to the girl’s mum, she sounds like a right character. 

It’s funny how certain events can help change your mood for the better. I really hope working with this girl will help me as much as her. This could be a great opportunity for me. It could help aid my recovery. 

I am in the process of switching my medication. I have lowered my dosage of Citralopram from 40mg to 20mg. Next week I will be taking 50mg of Sertraline each morning. I do have my doubts whether this is the right thing to do. But I am willing to at least try in order to stabilise my mood. 

5 thoughts on “A new opportunity

  1. I’m sorry that you were struggling, but I think it’s great that you’ve found a way to help someone and that you’re taking on a new opportunity! I’m actually on Sertaline (60 mg), so if you feel like you need to talk to someone about taking it, feel free to ask.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thats great news, you’ll be fantastic, and a great way to use your skills, this will help.

    Glad you feel better in yourself, you have amazing support with Dave.

    I’m on day 5 of sertraline(zoloft) for me the side effects are difficult, but not so much that I can’t continue, and from what I’ve read it seems to be effective.

    Again great news
    Take care xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had issues with sertraline like serious adverse issues myself and was weaned off and switched to lexapro and things have been fabulous!! The point here is, just because lexapro did not work for you does not mean you will not have amazing results with sertraline. I mean I felt the difference as soon as I was off sertraline so you might feel that change as well!!

    I’m glad that they are switching though because clearly it isn’t working for you!! They need to find what is best for YOU!!

    I am glad you do have an awesome opportunity with this little girl!! They are so happy and positive! She will bring happiness to your life to! :]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

