Proud

Until yesterday, it had been years since Dom and I have been the cinema. I think the last time we went, Dom must have only been about 10 or 11. He found it so challenging and it wasn’t an enjoyable experience for him. 

Since finding out about Finding Dory coming out during the summer holiday, Dom has expressed interest in seeing it. A few weeks ago, he asked if we could go and see it and of course I said yes! 

Dom has been so excited about Finding Dory. When I arrived to pick him up yesterday, he couldn’t wait to go the cinema! Dom has an iPod touch which he absolutely loves. He said that he wanted to leave this in the car. This was a big step. Dom has ADHD and Autism and his iPod helps in a number of ways. It allows him something to do when he is bored and a way of coping with his anxiety. 

Dom moaned during the adverts and trailers (can’t say I blame him!) But I used humour to help distract him. I wish I could have filmed Dom’s reactions when watching the film. It was lovely to see. He had a big grin on his face and laughed countless times. He sat through the entire film and commented on how much he enjoyed it. 

One of my biggest concerns about Dom was his lack of intrinsic motivation. Since baking a cake for my birthday, Dom has asked if we can start cooking tea at my house. So next week, we are going to make our own pizza and chocolate flapjacks. This is the young man who was an extremely fussy little boy who went through a phase of only eating in McDonalds when out with me. 

Being able to see firsthand how much progress Dom has made is one of the most rewarding things for me. It seems I am guilty of underestimating Dom. I hope he continues to prove me wrong πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Proud

  1. katiereablog says:

    I loved reading about this and what you have achieved. Well done to Dom! I am following your blog so I can read more. So inspirational

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

